St Aloysius ITI holds annual sports meet

St Aloysius ITI Coolege held its annual sports meet. The chief guest was Nishel Delphina D’Souza, national level athlete. Fr Melwin Joseph Pinto SJ, rector, St Aloysius Institutions, was the president. Fr John D’Souza S J, director, Roshan D’Souza, principal, Alwyn Menezes, vice principal, Noel Lobo, training officer, Avinash Loy D’Cunha, president, student council, Romius D’Souza and John D’Souza, staff conveners. Rayan James D’Souza, sports secretary and student convener were present.

The march past was done by the students of all trades. MMV second year students won the prize in march past.

The prayer service was led by Sewing Technology students. Avinash Loy D’Cunha, president, student council welcomed the gathering.

The college flag hoisting was done by the chief guest.

The chief guest addressed the gathering saying, “Everyone is super excited about today’s sports day. Physical fitness and strength play an integral part in life. Sports makes our life interesting, it helps us to work hard. Whether you win a medal or not you all are winners. Your activities and continuous participation in sports and athletics can build you in terms of fitness. There are a lot of opportunities in our country. We must make use of it and take part in it the sports events. I wish the best to all.”

The annual sports meet was declared open by the chief guest after releasing the tricolor balloons in the air.

In his presidential address, Fr Melwin Joseph Pinto SJ said, “You can achieve anything if you have passion. If you are interested in sports along with your studies and if you make time and learn the sports, you can achieve further.” He wished everyone all the best.

The oath taking ceremony was led by sports secretary Rayan D’Souza. He also proposed a vote of thanks.

The programme was compered by Ayshath Akeelath, student of Sewing Technology.

Students participated in various competitions like 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, long jump, discuss throw, ring throw, relay, shot put, and tug of war. The winners were congratulated with medals and certificates.

The individual championship in the girls’ category was won by Fathimathul Adabiya, a student of Sewing Technology.

The individual championship in the boys category was won by Sujan Albuquerque, student of Electrician first year.

Results of tug of war

1st prize – Electronics Mechanic 2nd year students

2nd prize – MMV 2nd year students

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *